[4th] Year Internship Update

September 16, 2014 § Leave a comment

 Hannah Herald is a [4th] Year Interior Architecture student who completed her internship this Summer 2014. Hannah was asked to stay and work through the school year upon completion of her internship.
Hannah Herald
1) Where did you intern this Summer? What type of design do they focus on? 
This Summer I worked for Angela Schlentz at SR Design Group. Here, we focus mostly on residential and commercial kitchen and bath design. We do new constructions as well as renovations.
2) What software did you use? What skills of yours have increased since completing this internship?
We do all of our drawings in AutoCAD. We also use a cabinet layout software called 20/20 though I have never used it. I use Illustrator and Photoshop almost on a daily basis. I feel like my photoshop skills have drastically improved. I have also become better at budgeting, FF&E specifications, as well as space planning.
3) Any advice you would give to IARc students seeking an internship?
The advice I would give to IACR students seeking internships is to put together the best resume and portfolio that you can, and send them out to as many people as possible. I would also recommend networking everywhere you go. Someone you already know may know of others who are in need of interns.
4) How has your job changed in terms of responsibilities since becoming a real job after the internship?
Until I actually graduate I am still considered an “intern”, but I have much more responsibilities now since my official internship is over. For instance, I am now trusted to go to client’s homes by myself and conduct the client interviews, take measurements, and photograph the spaces. I am also in charge of picking out most of the FF&E for our client’s and presenting the ideas to them. Ordering products and parts is also a huge part of my job.
We wish Hannah all the best with her career endeavors!
Contributed by Torrey Orlopp [4th] Year 
Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading [4th] Year Internship Update at UNCG IARc.

meta

