Summer Transitions: Research Project

May 3, 2012 § Leave a comment

Transitioning to a job offering design experience is a big step towards preparing for and obtaining a professional design job after graduation. This summer, Heather Williams, a [2nd] year student, will help Travis Hicks with a research project. Through this endeavor, she will further broaden her view into the design world.

Why did you choose to take this job?
I wanted to do the URA research with Travis this summer because I wanted to learn more about mechanical systems and materials used in building. I also really wanted to learn about things that I have not had any experience with and I am excited for an opportunity to participate this URA research. I have never done this before so I am looking forward to the experience and learning more about it.

What do you hope to gain from this experience?
I hope to learn a lot about building materials, mechanical systems used in homes, and how these things can effect people’s health. I really am looking forward to learning about the building aspect of both IARc’s focus on design and home design.

How does this job differ from previous summer jobs?
The URA research will be an experience that directly deals with our major, including a focus that I am looking to getting into later. So, I am excited to do something that will give me some experience in what I want to do, too.

Post contributed by Paige Hohlt, [2nd year]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Summer Transitions: Research Project at UNCG IARc.

meta

