Blog Contributor Highlight: Paige Hohlt [2nd year]

May 3, 2012 § Leave a comment

Paige Hohlt, a native of Texas, made the big move to North Carolina when it was time for the college transition. With her grandparents living in Durham, she was already somewhat familiar with North Carolina. Paige grew up as an extreme Duke fanatic and a lover of squirrels. In the design realm, Paige is a modern design and coffee enthusiast (the coffee definitely helps with this major). Her latest work and what she worked hard on all semester is represented below:

What brought you to this program?

“I always knew I wanted to be a designer but I couldn’t choose between specifically Interior Design and Architecture. When I heard about Interior Architecture and [discovered] the program here at UNCG, I knew I had to check it out. I visited several other schools, but this program seemed the most promising. The hybrid quality lends to both the visual appeal of Interior Design but also towards expanding my interest in human-environmental relationships. I’ve been really happy with my decision!”

What kind of design are you headed towards?

“Modern, Simplistic, Graphic. My aesthetic is very Scandinavian / Japanese inspired and I tend to draw ideas from there. I also have always been fascinated with residential design. People spend a good amount of time in their homes and I love the idea of making it comfortable for them.”

What are your future plans?

“The beauty of IARc is that there are many outlets from which to choose. My dream is Residential Design but you never know what the future may offer. I’d love to live in Scandinavia for a bit and learn more about their aesthetic. My dream is to just travel and learn more about the world, then apply that to design.”

Post + Photography submitted by Kate Ewen [2nd year]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Blog Contributor Highlight: Paige Hohlt [2nd year] at UNCG IARc.

meta

