The Life of an Intern

February 26, 2012 § Leave a comment

Recently, I posted a story about my experience interning at View Point Studios, and it’s sudden end. Unsure if I would find another required internship, I worried that I might not graduate in May. The day after Viewpoint closed, I sent my portfolio, resumes, and cover letters to three different companies. As time passed on without receiving any callbacks, my anxiety levels began to rise. Finally, I heard from one of the designers who previously worked at View Point Studios; Steven Wood. He informed me that he received another position at a staging and photography studio in High Point called Albion Associates. Wood, an IARc alum, remembered that my internship was needed to graduate. He spoke with the owners of Albion about my and Charese Allen’s (another IARc intern) work. Both Charese and I were offered a position to become new company interns. The environment of our new job is definitely different in comparison to View Point, but our learning experience will be just as important.

Albion Associates

I never heard from the other three companies I applied to, but one of the major lessons I learned from this experience is that connections are a key to success. Wood remembered me,  spoke on my behalf, and placed me in an internship that I might not have acquired without his recommendation. The last few weeks have been a whirlwind of life experiences that came by surprise. It taught me so much about the work field, and I’m grateful for the lessons I learned.

here’s Albion’s website … check it out www.albioncreative.com

 

contributed by Kalani Gonzalez [4th] year

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Life of an Intern at UNCG IARc.

meta

