A look at Student Internships

February 15, 2012 § Leave a comment

Internships are a valuable asset for those about to enter the workforce. It’s an opportunity for young talent to grow and apply their knowledge in real world environments. Each student must have an internship experience before graduating, and we currently have eight students with internships, engaging in the community and jump-starting their careers. IARc correspondent Paige Hohlt contacted several of these students to gain insight of their experience:

Tracey Wright, [4th] year, Anthropologie
“I’m interning for the second time at Anthropologie here in Greensboro. As an intern at Anthropologie I have the opportunity to work  in a retail environment where the store design is always changing. I work along side the design coordinator, Paige Cox, to compile inspiration for concepts with the stores design…I help the design coordinator to pull inspiration images, do space planning, make sketches for designs that we then propose for the store… This opportunity has helped me think fast about design. To quickly get inspired, have a concept and make it happen…Interning at Anthropologie has allowed me to think outside the box and use materials and concepts in a whole new way.”

Veronica Harvey, [4th] year, Anthropologie
“I am currently a Visual Display intern at Anthropologie working under Paige Cox.  My responsibilities entail creating and maintaining visual displays. I assist in the completion of visual objectives that support the overall concepts of the store…Each store can tackle the concepts in their own way, which is what allows all the Anthropologie Stores to manifest their own style of ethos. NO two stores are alike.

My experience here has taught me that first ideas are just that, an idea that came first.  The best ideas mature through manipulation, exploration, and trial/error… My goal is to have a better understanding of how to employ these tactics through the veil of human experience (how it engages our senses) to the environments that I am charged with in the future.  I would like to continue working in Commercial Retail/Hospitality Design when my internship is over.  I love the idea of developing a Brand through the manipulation of spatial planning.”

Shane Jones, ID Collaborative
“I am an intern at ID Collaborative, Greensboro, NC, under Nancy Borum. ID Collaborative is a commercial interiors design firm specializing in Senior Living and Corporate and Hospitality Interiors. I have been fortunate to be involved in all aspects of the design process at IDC, allowing me to see small projects to the finish and major start up projects from the beginning. I have been given my own projects to head up lending me the opportunity to consult with the client, measure, photograph, analyze the site, draft spaces in AutoCad, specify and order FF & E’s. I have learned a variety of skill sets in school however, working at ID Collaborative I am learning new skills to complete the design process. Some of my responsibilities involve final phase installations, which are exciting to see a project come to life. I plan to continue living in North Carolina and seek employment with a commercial design firm, which will allow me to utilize the skills that I have learned in school and my internship.”

Contributed by Paige Hohlt, [2nd] year

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A look at Student Internships at UNCG IARc.

meta

