IARC student highlight: Kelly Harris [3rd] year

September 19, 2011 § Leave a comment

As the morning sun streams through the windows of Gatewood’s east facade, Kelly Harris works intently at her desk. Kelly is the unabashed early bird of third year studio, frequently waking up around 5:30 in the morning (sometimes 4:30) to ready herself for the day’s work. “I prefer to do work in the morning,” she explains, “because there’s just something about waking up and feeling the first morning sunshine and cooling air – it’s almost renewing to me.”

Kelly renders a site diagram for Travis's IAR 301 studio.

Kelly has been drawing in 2 dimensions since kindergarten. Growing up, she took regular art classes and participated in kids’ summer art programs. In addition to drawing and painting, Kelly enjoys swimming and helping her mom decorate the house. Another major hobby is traveling, which helps to fuel her sense of adventure. She remembers, “I was always that little kid who loved Indiana Jones, Jurassic Park, The Mummy… Indiana Jones was my hero!” One of her goals is to travel the world.

What about her taste in design?

“I like things that are simple and look like they’ve been places,” she says. “I love Asian art – it just has this mystery and graphic quality to it. From an aesthetic standpoint, I appreciate the amount of detail and ornateness … how everything you see in Asian architecture and handicrafts always looks so well thought out, and every detail has a purpose. I guess my design style derives from the contrast between that complexity within simplicity.”

As Kelly prepares her studio space for a photograph, she makes one last observation: “Organization is not my forte – sometimes my desk looks like a page from an I-spy book.”

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading IARC student highlight: Kelly Harris [3rd] year at UNCG IARc.

meta

