iarc’s history with hes

April 20, 2011 § Leave a comment

With the IARc Department’s move to the College of Arts and Sciences, the undergraduate degree will change from a Bachelor of Science to a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Interior Architecture, effective 2012. The BFA degree responds to the studio-intensive coursework related to creativity in the arts supported with general studies, and will more accurately reflect the educational journey of IARc students who ultimately seek careers as professional designers.

As previously covered in the March inews, the IARc Department will move to the College of Arts and Sciences in July 2011. At this time, the School of Human and Environmental Sciences (HES) will dissolve as the other departments move toward academic units focused on health. The Department of Consumer, Apparel, and Retail Studies will move into the Bryan School of Business. IARc flourished in HES under Dean Laura Sims, whose guidance and support we will miss. We remember our milestones within HES:

1987: School of Human Environmental Sciences established; Department name was “Housing and Interior Design” and internship program established to help students gain professional design experience.

1990: “Honors” Studio created to ehance industry/education partnerships; Novem Mason named Department Chair

1991: Studio moved to old Weatherspoon Gallery Space

1992: Jay Leno’s “Tonight Show” features furniture designed by Alexander Forsyth

1993: Accredidation received from Foundation for Interior Design Education/Research (FIDER)

1994: Novem Mason receives Excellence in Education Award from Carolina chapter of American Society for Interior Design and Student Chapter receives Outstanding Student Chapter Award. Professor Jo Leimenstoll serves as project architect for Thomas Day House/Union Tavern restoration in Milton, NC

1995: Study abroad program established with University of Oulu in Finland.  Students use fabric to create open-air corridors in front of McIver Building

1996: Interior design students in joint digital studio for renovation of “The Depot” in Greensboro.  Professor Jo Lemeinstoll wins Preservation North Carolina’s Robert E. Stipe Professional Award

1997: HID students collaborate with HDFS to design child-sized furniture and play equipment for Child Care Education Program (CCEP)

1998: HID collaborates with Eva Maddox Assoc., a well-known Chicago interior design firm on studio project

2000: Tommy Lambeth named Department Chair; served 10 years

2001: Name changed to Department of Interior Architecture; IARc students win first place in IDEC student design competition

2003: Drs. Marshall-Baker and Lucas take 18 students on a study abroad trip to Europe

2004: Department moves into mewly-constructed Gatewood Studio Arts Building

2005: “Center for Innovation in Interior Architecture” approved by UNCG Board of Trustees

2006: Professor Charest’s “Urban Studio” course partners with Greensboro community to rebuild an elderly couple’s home

2008: Professor Charest’s Urban Studio 2 course continues with the design/build of “My Sister Susan’s House,” a residential facility for teenage homeless mothers and children

2009: the Department receives funding to establish Natuzzi Library

2010: Dr. Anna Marshall-Baker named Department Chair.  Jo Leimenstoll publishes book, Thomas Day: Master Craftsman and Free Man of Color.

2011: Dr. Patrick Lee Lucas receives UNC Board of Governors Award for Teaching Excellence


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

What’s this?

You are currently reading iarc’s history with hes at UNCG IARc.


%d bloggers like this: