beyond the classroom: CAROLINE HILL

March 15, 2010 § 1 Comment

This post comes to us all the way from Cape Town, South Africa, where Caroline Hill is doing an internship! Read about Caroline’s great experiences abroad below:

I am currently doing an architecture internship in Cape Town, South Africa. I am working at a small architecture firm in the city bowl of Cape Town, and I was placed in my internship through a program called Volunteer Adventure Corps (VAC) http://www.vacorps.com/ .

I currently work at Leroy Wasserfall Architects (LWA), a firm that mostly concentrates on a wide range of commercial work. Currently, we are focusing on a mixed use nightclub, nature reserve facility, which will be sustainably designed and constructed, several smaller scale projects such as a store front, and some residential work.

My internship is three months long in duration, working 9am-5pm everyday. I was welcomed into the small firm and given projects to do immediately! I designed the signage for LWA’s office building based on the 19th century architecture of their building. I found this assignment to be similar to a charette done in IARC because it was a warm up project needing to be done at a quick pace.

I have also put a lot of work into the nightclub project, using the principles of design. I have considered the users of the space throughout the programatic development of the nightclub, and this project has helped me realize that I am putting my Interior Architecture degree to work in the “real world”.

Through the tough economic times I would encourage current students to not give up on their goals! Internships are a great way to get a dose of the “real world” and start making professional connections. Experiencing design and architecture within a different culture helps you realize how extremely different, yet very similar, the world really is! My biggest advice would be, if you haven’t been out of NC or the US start traveling NOW! And don’t forget to bring your sketch book along!

Please feel free to view my blog at: http://caroline-journeytosa.blogspot.com/

Caroline in Cape Town

a beautiful view of South Africa. photo credit: Caroline Hill

§ One Response to beyond the classroom: CAROLINE HILL

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading beyond the classroom: CAROLINE HILL at UNCG IARc.

meta

